Hawaiian Diaries

Hello readers!! I’m sorry it took me so long to get this up. Better late than never right??!! Anyway, here is the rest of my adventures on the beautiful island of Maui.

20140808_125210

 

My departure– The flight out to Maui was one of the most pleasant I have taken. I guess it’s hard to be in a bad mood when you’re heading to a paradise on Earth.  I met a couple from the Midwest who were celebrating their 59th wedding anniversary on Maui. Best of luck!! May we all be so lucky.

 

Day 1– On my first day I took a gorgeous morning swim in Kihei, right near Kamaole state park. Weather and water could not have been more beautiful. After a few hours of baking in the sun I grew faint and weary for nourishment. The locals recommended Eskimo Candy, so of course that’s where I went. I. Refueled and replenished, I headed back out into the sun and surf. I then went over to Lahaina and watched the sunset. What gorgeous town! It’s a stereotypical Hawaiian town with all the quaint charm. I met a guy named Dan who made me three fish out of a coconut leaves. I then ate dinner at Mick Fleetwood’s restaurant Fleetwood’s. Think the name’s ironic? My Dad would be so proud of my life choices:) The only disappointment was that I wasn’t able to get a picture with Mick. Oh well next time. You can run but you can’t hide Mick!! 🙂

P.S. Meet Dan!

20140806_190212

 

Day 2– We thought we needed to prepare for Iselle. State parks and schools closed, and the island turned into one big end of the world party. Music, laughter, and “Happy Huricane!” resounded from the beaches. I took a coastal ride early in the morning. I attempted to make it to Honolua Bay, but on the dark wooded trail down to the bay I was met by the landowners dogs, who were the exact opposite temperament of my mongrels at home. I decided to visit some blowholes on the north side of the island instead. Here’s the link if you wanna check out a video of the blowhole blowing.

Day 3– How I spent the day waiting out Iselle. I had breakfast at a wonderful place called Freds. I fell in love with our waiter. He was an incredibly funny and helpful local. He steered me towards a Hawaiian delicacy called moco loco. It was delicious!! I then went into Lahaina to go shopping. To be fair it was raining a bit, but nothing like the hurricane like conditions we were expecting. On my way back I stopped at a local fruit stand and bought some banana bread, Mango bread, and a local favorite…pineapple juice mixed with cane sugar. There is a huge sugar industry here on Maui. Then I went to walk on the Kealia boardwalk, where I promptly dropped my key through the boardwalk. I don’t want to talk about it…

20140808_122708

 

Day 4- I woke up this morning to the smell of sugar cane being burned. Not as pleasant as you might think. Smelled more like rotting fish than sugar. Apparently it is a very effective retrieval method, though. Then after finishing the whole key ordeal…seriously I don’t want to talk about it… we ate breakfast at Freds…again. I had the most delicious panacakes I think I’ve ever eaten…Don’t tell IHOP. After carbo loading I went on a hike through lava fields with a friend of mine. This hike had some of the most beautiful scenery of Maui’s coast line. For dinner I had the most incredible sushi I have yet to experience. The sushi was fresh and expertly made by the chefs. If your ever in Maui Sunsei is a must.

20140809_160626

 

 Day 5– We once again ate breakfast at Freds. 3rd day in a row. The waiter is now completely judging me. I had a traditional breakfast of eggs and potatoes before out hike on the Hana highway. The hike was one of the most gorgeous, challenging, but rewarding hikes I have been on. We climbed up a rock, up a ladder, through boulder filled rivers, jumped down and climbed over a waterfall (that was the most fun part) and saw 4 gorgeous and incredible waterfalls. At our fourth waterfall my friend was brave enough to climb up the waterfall and jump off. In her comedic like sense of humor, she began to sing the theme song to lion king from atop the waterfall. We then ate some weird local fruit that grows back in the woods. It was pink a sweet like a grapefruit. The views you have of the waterfalls here could not compete with doing this hike. It was an incredibly rewarding experience at the end of it all. We then went to a black sand beach. It was again another beautiful coastal drive through Maui.

 Day 6– Spent the day at Mckena State Park. I got to lie in the shade under beautiful rainbow tropical trees and read for the day. It was like I died and went to heaven. I then went into Wailea to go shopping. Then I went star gazing. It was an incredible experience. I chased the sunset up the mountain and then watched it set over the clouds. At 10,000 feet up the skies were so clear. The stars shown brighter then I have ever seen them before. The moon was full, and allowed us to peer through the clouds and a beautiful night view of Kahlui. It was an experience I will never forget.

2014-08-11 19.09.11

 

Day 7– I spent my final hours in Hawaii in the Iao Valley. It is an easy, but an incredibly scenic hike. The entire trail through  the valley is 3/4 of mile. Great to do if you have little ones who are not up to doing a long hike. 

20140812_101401

About ashleyeastside

I had a great run in LA, but it's now time to head back to the Nation's Capital to pursue the artistic life I endeavored on after graduation. The fun is definitely not over yet, however. Stay tuned, because just as I brought you LA's best kept secrets, I am now out to bring you DC's best kept secrets.

Leave a Reply

